Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

Social Sciences Online. Ministry of Education


The New Zealand Curriculum and Te Marautanga o Aotearoa are the guiding documents which together form the national curriculum for New Zealand schools.

The social sciences are one of eight learning areas described in the curriculum. Classical studies is one of a number of specialisations in the social sciences area that might be offered for senior secondary school students.

Links to key curriculum documents for classical studies are provided here:

  • Classical studies teaching and learning guides (years 11–13)

    Senior secondary teaching and learning guides for classical studies provide support for teachers of classical studies as they develop programmes of learning for their senior secondary students. They reflect the intent of the national curriculum and are an adjunct to it.

  • The New Zealand Curriculum: Social sciences

    This section of the New Zealand curriculum website has information about the social sciences as a learning area, the learning area structure, and the achievement objectives for levels 1 to 8.

    Resources and information relating to the previous (1997) curriculum document may continue to be used as supporting documents when planning teaching and learning programmes. Open the pdf.

  • Understanding the social sciences as a learning area – A position paper

    This position paper, written in 2008, highlights the importance of the social sciences and the place of social studies as a social science in the New Zealand curriculum. It focuses on the broader social sciences and includes classical studies, economics, geography, history, and social studies, along with other related subjects developed by schools for senior levels.

    It brings together historical developments, research findings, and curriculum, assessment, and resource initiatives to provide a discussion of how the social sciences learning area is defined, and how teachers, teacher educators, and researchers can move forward with a stronger sense of shared understandings.

  • The New Zealand Curriculum

    The New Zealand Curriculum sets the direction for teaching and learning in English-medium New Zealand schools. It has been mandatory since February 2010.

  • Te Marautanga o Aotearoa

    Te Marautanga o Aotearoa, the curriculum for Māori-medium teaching, learning, and assessment, was launched in September 2008. It is New Zealand’s first curriculum to be developed and written in te reo Māori and sets the direction for teaching and learning in Māori-medium schools and settings.

Return to top

Site map